Rock Chic
present
past
band
contact
guestbook
profile
rings
surveys/quizzes
diaryland

The story of Evelyn and Beth


She didn�t have much to offer. She wasn�t classically beautiful, she wasn�t tall, she wasn�t blond haired and blue eyed, she just was. She lived alone in a world she created and had very little friendships. She had a problem trusting people, which suited her just fine. The least amount of people she trusted, the less likely she would be hurt by them. This philosophy was rock solid, and she held onto it like a faith, or a religion. It was her identity; it was the very being of who she was. It was her essence. A sad existence, most people would assume, but it was very special. The ones she did trust, her dearest loved ones, had a relationship that could never be broken by time or any trivial reason caused by the world. Once she loved someone, it was for life, and she honored that person regardless of quarrels, beliefs or time spent away from them. They became her blood and she would willfully spill her own just to make sure the other was happy.

One day, while contemplating life over a cup of tea, she received a call from one of these special few.

�I need you. Come to my home, and I�ll explain everything.�

With out delay, she hastily bought a ticket and flew across the great sea to be with her dear friend. When they met up face to face, the dear friend looked withdrawn and utterly miserable.

�Evelyn, what has happened to you?�

�My dear sweet Beth, I�m dieing.�

There were many hugs and many tears. Evelyn explained that she was gradually going insane and that it had to do with a tumor growing deep in her brain. Not only was she slowly loosing her mind, but she would soon lose most of her bodily functions.

�The reason why I asked you here, is because I don�t want to be alone. Especially since I have a major decision to make.�

�What is it, Evelyn? I�ll help you with whatever you need.�

�I have to decide whether or not to end this now, before I lose my dignity. Do you understand?�

Beth�s heart stopped. �I don�t think I want to understand.�

�Oh, Beth, please don�t judge me. This is something that I have to live with, not you. You must understand that.�

For many weeks, Beth and Evelyn, lived out their younger years, throwing tea parties, dressed up in Evelyn�s old debutant gowns, and dancing the nights away in clubs that littered the downtown area. For a while it seemed that Evelyn was getting better. She almost returned to being the young 30 something year old woman she was supposed to be. Then one night, as they sat on the living room floor eating dinner, Evelyn turned to Beth and said, �What�s going on here?�

�What do you mean, Evelyn dear?�

�Why are you looking at me that way?� Evelyn began to look feverish.

�Darling, what�s the matter?�

�Why are you in my house?�

�You asked me to come, remember?�

�I don�t even know who you are!�

�Evelyn, please, it�s me Beth.�

�Why do you keep calling me that?!� Beth began to cry and Evelyn shrank back against the couch they were leaning against. �Oh my God. Beth?�

Crying, �Yes, Darling.�

�I�m so sorry, I don�t know what just happened.�

�I know.� They embraced and cried into each other�s shoulder. They stayed that way for quite sometime. Evelyn then withdrew and held Beth�s face in her two hands. �You know that you have always been my dearest friend. Forgetting you should be the last thing I ever do.� They stared into each other�s eyes. Evelyn leaned in and kissed Beth full on the mouth. They stayed there, like a statue created by one of the Masters, emotions flooding each other and bringing them both to tears. A beautiful bitterness lingered with a great flood of unendurable pain. When they separated, the dear friends hugged once again. �Do you see why I have to do this, Beth? I�ve decided that I have to end it soon, before I lose everything that is precious to me.�

�I understand. God, how I hate it, but I understand.�

�Don�t worry I will always write.� A giggle escaped from between Beth�s lips.

�You are such a kidder.�

�Do you think I am kidding?�

�No.�

They decided that an overdose would be the most suitable way to do what was necessary. Beth helped Evelyn bathe, and they both dressed up in the most outlandish outfits they could find. They threw a party just for the two of them. They swapped stories and reminisced about the �good old days�. They stayed up, listening to old albums, sipping wine and enjoying each other�s company. They watched the sun set and then rise again.

�Darling, I think it is time for me to go to bed.�

Beth panicked, �I want to be there with you!�

�No, I can�t have that. I don�t want you to get in trouble with the law on my account. You get yourself to bed, and I�ll see you again.�

�My dearest, sweetest, Evelyn. What will I do without you?�

�Perhaps go back home and do something with yourself. I want you to make dozens of friends and throw silly parties on my behalf. Look at me. I�ve been alive for over thirty years, where are my numerous friends pounding on my door? You and I are so alike, Beth. My friendship with you has been the greatest thing of my life, but I have no one else. I want you to have more then I�ve had, do you understand?�

�I love you, Evelyn.�

�I love you too, Darling. Good night.�

Beth watched as Evelyn gracefully walked up the spiral stairs to her bedroom. Later in the day, after some rest, she walked up those very stairs and found Evelyn "fast asleep". Her eyes were closed and her lips formed a beautiful smile, an angel sleeping forever.

The funeral wasn�t very big. Beth and a few others, stood around the gravesite, as the morning sun beat down on them. The service was short, and the wake was polite. There wasn�t a lot said and the family already had movers taking and sorting Evelyn�s things. Most of it would be given to a local charity for battered women; the rest would be thrown away. Beth�s heart was heavy when she finally flew back home. Her apartment looked the same, except for her dead houseplants. She didn�t really have anyone to come and water them for her while she was away. Her front entrance was littered with mail and she looked through it with little interest. That�s when she came across the letter. It was addressed to her with the beautiful looping handwriting of her dear friend Evelyn. She quickly tore it open and pulled out the letter.

To my dearest friend,

If you are reading this, it means that you have made it home safely and not crashed into the ocean. To bad too, because I was really hoping we could continue our party up here. Don�t worry I�m always with you and I�ll make sure that you will forever be safe. I do, however, have a request. I want you to stop being bloody alone all of the time. It�s not natural. You are probably wondering whey I didn�t take my own advice.

By the way, how was my funeral? I would have loved to see how that went. Were there many people there all talking about all of the fabulous things that I did? Did any of my good friends tell you how much I meant to them and how much they will miss me? I�m more then sure that you were the only good friend there. The rest associates and a few family members, I�m sure. What a sad existence, don�t you think? It�s fairly pathetic that I had to call my only friend from the other side of the world to be with me, because I had no one else. I don�t want that for you, Darling. I want you to be so filled up with friendships that you can�t breathe. I want you to make love to life, and share all of these beautiful things with everyone that knows you. Do you understand me, Beth? I don�t want you to be like me.

Well, my pet, I�ve drunken my last pill and made my final toast. I daresay, I�m a bit tired and I think it is time for me to go.

Much love,

Evelyn.

Beth reread the letter over and over again, until she couldn�t see the writing anymore. Tears spilled onto the precious letter smudging the text. �Oh, Evelyn, always the kidder. Do you hear me, you tired old broad? I will always miss you, and that�s what matters.� Beth gathered herself together and sat on the couch. �Evelyn, I don�t think I mind being like you.�



join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Have you read these yet?


The Final Bow - 2004-08-21

Hell's Bride - 2004-08-20

One more day to go. - 2004-08-19

Stalker!!!! *psycho shower scene theme song* - 2004-08-13

Assessment of Doom - 2004-08-11

previous - next




2003-10-26 11:37 a.m.

design by angeline
This is a disclaimer of sorts:
All names are made up (except for the band members) in order to protect peoples identities. Spelling and grammar are of little importance. If you are anal, it is highly recommended that you not read further. This diary is protected by the FBI.