Rock Chic
present
past
band
contact
guestbook
profile
rings
surveys/quizzes
diaryland

Melliandra's Demon


I was looking through some old stuff and I found a play that I wrote in collage. I had written and directed the play for a student showcase. It was the same semester that I was planning my wedding. I was also studying for finals at the time. I was so stressed I ended up collapsing back stage. I still have the bump where my head collided with the floor, and that was over four years ago.

Anyway, the name of this play is Melliandra�s Demon. It�s a dark fairytale about a young princess that is being forced to marry due to her family�s falling in power. It�s based on the book of Tobit from the Deuterocanonicals/Apocrypha of the bible.

In my play, the princess marries a prince who ends up dieing on their wedding night, before their marriage is consummated. No one knows how or why. She gets married off again and still again the prince dies. This happens a third time with a different scenario and the princess is considered cursed. During these scenarios a demon by the name of Asmodeus is the actual killer of these poor men.

Meanwhile the princess has found a way to escape the collapsing castle for a few hours out of the day, and becomes friends with a young blacksmith. There�s obvious attraction but they are restricted by their social status. Typical, I love you but I�m not allowed to, shit. What can I say; I was desperate.

The father is a crazy psycho loser and during one scene, while he�s beating on his wife and daughter, Asmodeus posses Melliandra and kicks the fucker�s ass. That was a fairly cool scene, if I may say so myself. When I had it reviewed it was the scene that got the most praise. Freaky lighting, an awesome fight scene that took me hours to choreograph (which included some raunchy father/daughter foreplay), and actors that were superb.

In the end Melliandra escapes her father and runs away with the blacksmith to her family�s summer cottage. That is when she confronts her demon and fights for the life of her beloved. She accomplishes that by committing suicide, suffocating herself with a strand of rosary beads, in order to kill the demon she herself created. Twisted isn�t it?

I remember opening night, after the lights went out and the play was over, there was complete silence. I was thinking to myself, �Oh shit. No one likes it.� Then there was this loud applause.

There is nothing like the feeling you get when your �art� is put before a bunch of strangers. The fear of not knowing if they will understand it. �What if they completely miss the meaning? What if they just down right hate it?� Then, when your work is praised, it�s incredible. I kind of miss that. Actually I miss theater in general. I�m going to have to do something about that.



join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Have you read these yet?


The Final Bow - 2004-08-21

Hell's Bride - 2004-08-20

One more day to go. - 2004-08-19

Stalker!!!! *psycho shower scene theme song* - 2004-08-13

Assessment of Doom - 2004-08-11

previous - next




2004-01-14 9:27 p.m.

design by angeline
This is a disclaimer of sorts:
All names are made up (except for the band members) in order to protect peoples identities. Spelling and grammar are of little importance. If you are anal, it is highly recommended that you not read further. This diary is protected by the FBI.