Rock Chic
present
past
band
contact
guestbook
profile
rings
surveys/quizzes
diaryland

Manic Birthdays


This weekend was, to say the least, interesting. Friday night Benny I went to dinner at the Texas Roadhouse. Benny had the ribs and I had the beef tips. Superb! I also had a very large margarita. I asked the waitress, �What�s the strongest margarita you�ve got?�

�Well, that would be the blah, blah, blah.� Damn I can�t remember the name of it. Oh well, it was damn good!! I became thoroughly intoxicated and gleefully went home. When we first got to the Roadhouse, there was an hour wait. So the overly peppy girl, in tight fitting Wranglers, let us take our pager with us to the mall. I went and bought a present for my niece�s 18th birthday. She�s this cute little punk rocker so I went and got her something cute from Hot Topic, then I bought her a little something to remind her of me, when she got lonely. When we got home, I wrote her a sentimental letter on the back of a post card with a cute pink bunny crying into its equally adorable paw. In big black letters, written on the top, are the words, �YOU SUCK AND THAT�S SAD�. The letter was really dumb, but what do you expect from a very drunk, sentimental auntie? I slept like a baby and woke the next morning to the alarm clock. Benny was going to practice some fireman stuff, and was going to have breakfast with one of the firefighters who are tutoring him. I was starving, so I tagged along. I was getting bored with the fireman talk very quickly. I hate being the subservient wife, but I play the role so well. So I sat quietly and ate my breakfast becoming part of the background along with the rest of the scenery. Then the fireman guy goes off on Rush Limbaugh. That, in my books, is a major no-no in my presence. So I go off on him. He didn�t like it very much, he thinks Rush is opinionated and pig headed? He learned quickly that there�s a little Mexican that could compete for the same title. It started a political debate that would rival Hannity and Colms. He kept giving me the whole �feelings� and �nature� crap, and I slapped him with cold hard facts. �There are no feelings involved with facts, Man.� It was good-natured, though, and we left the table laughing.

After breakfast I ran some errands. When I got back Benny was ready to go and spend Sweetest Day, spoiling me. �Where do you want to go, Sweetie?�

�I don�t care, wherever you want to go.� Big mistake! I end up following Benny around �man stores�. We did visit some music stores, and a few game exchanges where cds were available; that was fun. Finally we got home and I settled down on the couch and watched as Benny went through some old home videos we had found in storage. Most of them were not labeled, so it was like a really big surprise. It was so strange watching video of ourselves in college; we were so young. After a few hours of viewing, we decided to go out and watch one of our favorite local bands, Annex, in a venue called K-2. They were giving a benefit for a dude who needs open-heart surgery, but can�t afford it. I was hanging out in front, getting drunk on gin and tonic. Marvin and Lana were there and I dragged her up there with me. We were dancing and singing along, we even met a few people who recognized me. That ended up being a bad thing. The next thing I know, a bunch of people are screaming �Bobby McGee!� I managed to tackle one that had gotten the attention of the lead singer, Paul. As I tackled her I said, �Don�t listen to her! She�s intoxicated!� He laughed, gave me the thumbs up and continued to entertain. One thing, all musicians understand, is that if another musician is out to have a good time, that�s what they want to do. Some like to play with other bands, and others don�t, we learn to respect that. I�m the type that doesn�t want to do stuff like that, I just like to drink, chill and watch�that�s all. Well after a while Marvin and Lana disappeared and Benny fetched me to go home. I was so tipsy, three large gin and tonics will do that, so I thought it would be a good idea to go grocery shopping. That was crazy! It�s hard acting sober when you�re not. It just looks like a drunk person acting sober. So this drunk person, acting sober, (that would be me) was swerving along the isles pushing a grocery cart, with a broken wheel; bad combination. I kept bumping into shelves and knocking over boxes of macaroni. Benny was off somewhere, doing God knows what. I was trying to remember what I had put on my list, too bad I hadn�t put it in my purse like I had intended. Who knew I would be shopping at a quarter to midnight before I went home that night? I was thinking this very thing when my cell phone starts vibrating and singing to me�oh, a call!!! �Hello?�

�Hey Dre! What�cho doin?� It was BJ!

�Hi BJ!! Guess where I�m at!�

�At K-2?�

�Nope Festival Foods!!�

�Ok.�

�Yeah�and I need yogurt.�

�Alright.�

�Guess what!�

�What?�

�I just saw, Annex!�

�Yeah, I know. Kelsie and me are heading over there right now. You have to be there!�

�Um�ok. Sure, I�ll just finish my shopping and I�ll head back. See you in a few.�

�Freak.�

�Love you too, bu-bye!�

To make the story short, we went back, hung out with the band and that was pretty much it.

The next morning, I woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed, ready to take on the day. There were a few messes I needed to clean up. I cannot believe how dirty my cats are!! I had changed the litter and Zack was determined to send it flying all over the kitchen. I was constantly sweeping his mess, he finally got bored and decided that watching me sweep was much more interesting. It�s hard to sweep when there�s a 15-pound cat chasing your broom. I dusted a few things, unfortunately not enough, and cleaned up the dirty dishes that Benny so kindly left for me to do from Thursday night. Read for a little while, but every time I would pick up my book, I would get a phone call or I would remember something that I had to do. One of those was putting away the laundry. I hate folding!!!! Benny had decided earlier that he was going to visit Rob so that I could be �alone�. He just wanted to get out of helping me with the housework. I know how his mind works. The next thing I know, it�s time to get ready for the Maloney�s show. I quickly showered, picked out my outfit, and packed my equipment into the car. When I got there, it was decorated with balloons and streamers. Oh no!!! It�s Smurf�s Birthday and I didn�t get him a gift!!!!!! *finger shot to the head* He didn�t care, he was just glad that people were there to celebrate his birthday with him. Even Paul, from Annex, came out. We invited him up with us and let him rock the stage. Paul is so cool!!! When I grow up, I want to be just like him! Except female�and Mexican. I also called up my niece, and had the entire bar wish her a happy birthday. She called me up this morning thrilled. I love that little girl. Oops, that young lady (sorry, �Resa). After the show Smurf was so drunk, he had trouble standing. Well, no, he didn�t have trouble standing, he had trouble walking in a straight line, and he was highly entertaining! After I put away my equipment, handled the settlement, paid the sound guy and the rest of the band, Smurf hadn�t even touched any of his stuff. Even the sound company was almost finished putting away everything. So, instead of being smart and leaving right away, I helped Smurf pack his stuff and helped his girlfriend get him to the car. �Hey, Heidi! Did you know that me and Dre have bonded? We are like this.� Shows two fingers crossed. �She�s like my little sister, but hot. We share secrets and�Hey! Guess what! I�m a bona fide stage hand in the Actors and Stage Hands union!� Blah, blah, blah, you get the gist of it. By the time I got home it was a quarter to four. I showered and watched the news until it was time to go to work. Now I�m here, with nothing to do except write this entry and wait to go home at 11:30. Then I�ll take a nap and finish my house cleaning!



join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Have you read these yet?


The Final Bow - 2004-08-21

Hell's Bride - 2004-08-20

One more day to go. - 2004-08-19

Stalker!!!! *psycho shower scene theme song* - 2004-08-13

Assessment of Doom - 2004-08-11

previous - next




2003-10-20 10:36 a.m.

design by angeline
This is a disclaimer of sorts:
All names are made up (except for the band members) in order to protect peoples identities. Spelling and grammar are of little importance. If you are anal, it is highly recommended that you not read further. This diary is protected by the FBI.